USyd wins Australian round of Jessup Moot

February 16, 2015



Teams from the University of Sydney and the University of Western Australia are packing their bags for the US after reaching the grand final of the Australian round for the Jessup International Law Moot.


UWA and USyd went head to head in a tightly contested final, with the Sydney Law School declared the winners of the Australian round.


Held at the High Court of Australia in Canberra, this year’s Australian Jessup final was adjudicated by Chief Justice Robert French, Gitanjali Bajaj and Dr Christopher Ward.


The Sydney University team consisted of Sam Murray, Sarah Bradbury, Alice Zhou, Nathan Hauser and Angus Nicholas. Leo Simoens, Charlotte Westbrook, Jordan Aitken, Eleni Kannis and Adam Rompotis represented UWA. 


Sarah Bradbury and Charlotte Westbrook shared the prize for best oralist in the grand final.


Both teams will travel to Washington DC in April to compete against more than 550 law schools in more than 80 countries for this year’s Jessup Cup.


Both law schools have a strong track record in the international round, with USyd winning the championship in 1996, 2007 and 2011, and UWA taking home the trophy in 2003. 


Enjoyed this post? Sign up for the Survive Law weekly newsletter for more.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

  • FB-AU
  • FB-NZ
  • Twitter
PLT handbook 2019 download survive-law 3
Please reload

Find us on social