top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurvive Law

Sydney Uni Wins National Intervarsity Women's Mooting Tournament

Sydney Law School

The University of Sydney has won this year’s National Intervarsity Women’s Mooting Tournament. Students Aarushi Sahore, Kate Farrell, and Connie Ye defeated the team from the University of Technology, Sydney in the grand final at the NSW Supreme Court last Thursday.

The grand final judging panel included the President of the NSW Court of Appeal, Justice Margaret Beazley.

Australian National University and Melbourne University also made the semi-finals. Ashleigh Barnes from UTS was named best speaker in the final, and Natasha Purvis from ANU was awarded best speaker in the preliminary rounds.

Sydney University Law Society established the women’s mooting competition in 2011 and it is the only Australian mooting tournament in which all competitors must be female. Griffith University won the 2012 competition.

The win caps off a successful fortnight of mooting for USyd, with the law school also defeating UTS in the Nicholas Cowdery Criminal Law Moot.

Enjoyed this post? Sign up for the Survive Law weekly newsletter for more.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page